Lee Miller – War Correspondent, Photographer, Model.

A visit to Farleys Farm, Chiddingly.

In the summer of 2019 I finally found Farley’s Farm. It has been there a long time and as a home to Lee Miller and Roland Penrose and later their son Antony it has been notable for decades.  I cam across the life and works of Lee Miller by accident and a few years before she died.  I had seen some Man Ray images and the solarisation technique I thought he had invented. Then I discovered the role of Lee Miller. And her extraordinary life. Not only was she beautiful and had careers in front of and behind the camera she was ambitious, talented and a pioneer. The fact that hooked me was that she was a war correspondent. For a fashion magazine?

Read more: https://wp.me/P7fprs-6H

Text and photo ©DavidDStephen

Leave a comment